Does Equipment Phase Out With Creature in MTG? A Comprehensive Guide
Yes, equipment phases out with a creature in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). When a permanent phases out, any Auras or Equipment attached to it will phase out along with it. This is called “phasing out indirectly.” When the creature phases back in, the equipment will return with it, still attached, ready for action. This simple answer, however, unlocks a deeper understanding of phasing and equipment interactions that can significantly impact your gameplay.
Understanding Phasing and Equipment
Phasing is a keyword ability in MTG that essentially removes a permanent from the game temporarily. A phased-out permanent is treated as though it doesn’t exist. It can’t be targeted by spells or abilities, it doesn’t deal damage, and it doesn’t interact with the battlefield in any way. At the beginning of its controller’s untap step, the permanent phases back in, returning to the battlefield.
Equipment, on the other hand, is a type of artifact that can be attached to creatures to grant them additional abilities or stats. Equipment remains on the battlefield even if the equipped creature leaves, providing a strategic advantage.
The interaction between these two mechanics is straightforward: If a creature equipped with equipment phases out, the equipment “indirectly” phases out too. This means the equipment doesn’t phase out on its own, but rather as a consequence of the creature phasing out. When the creature phases back in, the equipment comes along for the ride.
Why This Matters
Understanding the interplay between phasing and equipment is crucial for several reasons:
-
Preserving Your Investment: Phasing can protect your equipped creature from removal spells, effectively shielding both the creature and the equipment from harm.
-
Strategic Maneuvering: Phasing allows you to temporarily remove a creature and its equipment from combat, potentially setting up a better board state for your next turn.
-
Synergy with Other Cards: Certain cards are designed to specifically interact with phasing, creating powerful combinations when used with equipped creatures.
Detailed Examples
Let’s illustrate with some common scenarios:
-
Scenario 1: Auras and Phasing Imagine you have a creature equipped with an Aura that grants it additional power and toughness. If that creature phases out, the Aura also phases out. When the creature phases back in, the Aura is still attached.
-
Scenario 2: Equipment and Phasing You have a creature equipped with a powerful equipment that provides evasion. If the creature phases out, the equipment phases out as well. Upon the creature’s return, it retains the benefits of the evasion granted by the equipment.
-
Scenario 3: Counters and Phasing If your creature has +1/+1 counters on it, and the creature phases out, the counters also phase out and come back when the creature returns. This is because counters are attached to the creature.
Important Considerations
-
Timing is Key: Phasing typically occurs at the beginning of your untap step, making it predictable. Plan your plays accordingly.
-
Token Creatures: If a token creature phases out, it will cease to exist when it phases in. The equipment will then become unattached and remain on the battlefield.
-
Cards That Specifically Prevent Equipment from Phasing: Some cards might have effects that prevent equipment from phasing out. Always read the card text carefully.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
H3 FAQ 1: What happens to equipment when a creature is returned to my hand?
The equipment stays on the battlefield, unattached. You can then equip it to another creature you control by paying the equip cost.
H3 FAQ 2: Does blinking a creature remove equipment?
Yes. When a creature is blinked, it is exiled and then returns to the battlefield as a new object. It will no longer be equipped.
H3 FAQ 3: Can I attach equipment to my opponent’s creatures?
Normally, no. The Equip ability specifies a target creature you control. However, some cards or effects might allow you to attach equipment to creatures you don’t control.
H3 FAQ 4: Does equipment have summoning sickness?
Equipment itself does not have summoning sickness. However, if an equipment becomes a creature (through an ability like Reconfigure), it will be affected by summoning sickness if it hasn’t been under your control continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn.
H3 FAQ 5: Can I equip a creature that is already equipped?
Yes. A creature can only be equipped with one equipment at a time. If you activate the equip ability of a new Equipment, you can chose which creature to attach it to (even if it means detaching another equipment).
H3 FAQ 6: Does equipment stay attached to a Vehicle if it ceases to be a creature?
The equipment will phase in with the Vehicle. However, State-Based Actions are then checked, and the equipment will fall off since it is attached to an illegal object (a non-creature).
H3 FAQ 7: Does equipment get exiled with creatures?
No. An effect that exiles a creature does not exile anything that is attached to it unless the effect specifically says so. Equipment will remain on the battlefield, not attached to anything, and can be equipped to something else.
H3 FAQ 8: What happens if an equipped creature stops being a creature?
The equipment will fall off. It can’t be attached to a non-creature permanent. The equipment remains on the battlefield.
H3 FAQ 9: Does protection from a color or creature type cause equipment to fall off?
Yes. Part of the definition of “protection” includes that a permanent with protection cannot have permanents of the protected quality attached to it. The equipment will fall off.
H3 FAQ 10: Do you gain control of equipment attached to a creature if you gain control of the creature?
No, you do not. The equipment remains under the control of its original controller. This player can still move the equipment to another creature they control.
H3 FAQ 11: Can a phased-out creature be sacrificed?
No. A phased-out permanent is treated as though it doesn’t exist, and therefore cannot be sacrificed.
H3 FAQ 12: If an equipment becomes a creature, does it remain equipped?
No. If an equipment becomes a creature, it becomes unequipped from whatever it was attached to. While you can activate its equip ability, it won’t re-equip to anything when it resolves.
H3 FAQ 13: Does phasing remove counters from a creature?
No, phasing does not remove counters. If a creature has counters on it, and that creature phases out, the counters phase out as well and return when the creature phases in.
H3 FAQ 14: Does phasing out remove enchantments (Auras)?
Yes, phasing works with Auras (enchantments). When an enchanted permanent phases in or out, the attached auras move with it.
H3 FAQ 15: Where can I learn more about the strategic implications of MTG?
For more in-depth learning about the mechanics and strategies of MTG, consider exploring resources like the Games Learning Society. Their work explores how games, including trading card games, can teach complex problem-solving skills and strategic thinking. Visit GamesLearningSociety.org for more information.
Conclusion
The interaction between phasing and equipment in MTG is a simple yet powerful one. Understanding the rules surrounding these mechanics allows you to protect your investments, strategize effectively, and leverage synergies within your deck. Master these interactions, and you’ll be well on your way to becoming a formidable MTG player.