Does exiling a token count as dying?

Does Exiling a Token Count as Dying in Magic: The Gathering?

No, exiling a token does not count as dying in Magic: The Gathering. “Dying” in MTG specifically refers to a creature or planeswalker going to the graveyard from the battlefield. Exiling, on the other hand, sends a permanent to the exile zone. For tokens, this difference is crucial because of how tokens exist within the game’s rules. When a token is exiled, it essentially ceases to exist entirely shortly after arriving in the exile zone due to state-based actions. The act of “dying” triggers abilities that look for creatures going to the graveyard, while exiling triggers different sets of abilities related to permanents leaving the battlefield or entering the exile zone. This distinction is essential for understanding how various cards and strategies interact in Magic: The Gathering.

Understanding the Nuances of Tokens, Dying, and Exiling

To fully grasp why exiling a token isn’t considered “dying,” we need to delve into the specific definitions and interactions within Magic’s comprehensive rule set. The term “dies” is a keyword action in Magic, specifically tied to the graveyard. When a creature ‘dies,’ it’s sent to the graveyard from the battlefield, which triggers abilities that watch for creatures going to the graveyard.

Tokens, however, have a peculiar existence. They’re created on the battlefield, but they behave differently from regular permanents represented by cards when they leave the battlefield. When a token leaves the battlefield for any zone other than the battlefield, it ceases to exist almost immediately. This means that if a token is exiled, it briefly enters the exile zone but then vanishes due to a state-based action that removes tokens from any zone other than the battlefield. Because it doesn’t remain long enough to be meaningfully considered “exiled” in the same way a card would, the effects looking for a permanent going to the graveyard do not trigger.

This differentiation is important because numerous cards in Magic have abilities that trigger upon a creature “dying.” For example, cards with abilities like “Whenever a creature you control dies…” would not trigger if a token you control is exiled, as the token never truly “dies” but effectively blinks out of existence after briefly entering exile. Similarly, cards that care about permanents being exiled will see the token enter the exile zone, but they won’t have a sustained effect on it because the token ceases to exist shortly after. Understanding this interaction is critical for deck building and strategic play.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the interaction between tokens, dying, and exiling in Magic: The Gathering.

1. What happens when a token is exiled?

When a token is exiled, it is sent to the exile zone. However, it ceases to exist almost immediately due to state-based actions. This is because tokens can only exist on the battlefield.

2. Does exiling a token trigger “leaves the battlefield” abilities?

Yes, exiling a token does trigger “leaves the battlefield” abilities because it does briefly leave the battlefield. However, keep in mind that the token will not persist in exile.

3. If a token has undying and is exiled, does it return?

No, if a token with Undying is exiled, it will not return to the battlefield. Although the Undying ability triggers when the token goes to the graveyard, the token ceases to exist before the ability can resolve and bring it back.

4. Does exiling a token count as destroying it?

No, exiling a token does not count as destroying it. Destroying a permanent specifically sends it to the graveyard, while exiling sends it to the exile zone.

5. Can you exile a token and bring it back later with a card that returns exiled cards?

No, you cannot bring a token back from exile with cards that return exiled cards. Tokens cease to exist when they leave the battlefield, so they aren’t available to be returned.

6. Does Bloodchief Ascension trigger off tokens that are exiled?

Bloodchief Ascension triggers when a nontoken creature card is put into the graveyard from the battlefield. Since exiling a token is not putting a nontoken creature card into the graveyard, Bloodchief Ascension will not trigger.

7. If I exile a token with a flicker effect (like Ephemerate), does it come back?

No, if you exile a token with a flicker effect like Ephemerate, it does not return to the battlefield. Flicker effects exile a permanent and then return it, but since tokens cease to exist when they are exiled, they cannot be returned.

8. Do tokens trigger enter-the-battlefield (ETB) effects when they are created?

Yes, tokens do trigger enter-the-battlefield (ETB) effects when they are created, because they are entering the battlefield.

9. Can a token be sacrificed and then exiled from the graveyard?

While you can sacrifice a token (sending it to the graveyard), it will cease to exist shortly thereafter as a state-based action, and thus cannot be exiled from the graveyard since it will no longer be there.

10. Does Luminous Broodmoth bring back tokens that “die”?

Luminous Broodmoth triggers when a non-flying creature you control dies. If a token without flying dies, Luminous Broodmoth’s ability triggers, but the token will not be returned to the battlefield, as it ceases to exist as a state-based action before the ability resolves to return it.

11. Does Profane Memento trigger when a token dies?

Profane Memento specifically triggers when a nontoken creature an opponent controls dies. Therefore, it does not trigger when a token dies.

12. Does exiling a token fulfill a quest or trigger an ability that requires a creature to leave the battlefield?

Yes, exiling a token does fulfill a quest or trigger an ability that requires a creature to leave the battlefield. It leaves the battlefield before ceasing to exist. However, if the quest requires the creature to go to the graveyard, it would not.

13. Can you use a card that exiles “target creature” to target a token?

Yes, you can target a token creature with a card that exiles “target creature”. The token will be exiled but then cease to exist immediately thereafter.

14. Does exiling a token count as “removing” it from the game?

Yes, exiling a token is one way of removing it from the game. In most contexts, “removing” a permanent from the game refers to it leaving the battlefield and potentially going to another zone, regardless of whether it’s destroyed or exiled.

15. How does phasing out a token compare to exiling it?

When a token is phased out, it is treated as though it doesn’t exist until your next untap step, but remains on the battlefield. If a token is exiled, it is sent to the exile zone, and it ceases to exist almost immediately due to state-based actions.

Strategic Implications and Deck Building Considerations

Understanding the distinction between “dying” and being “exiled” is crucial for strategic gameplay and effective deck building in Magic: The Gathering. Knowing that tokens don’t trigger “dies” effects but do trigger “leaves the battlefield” effects allows players to make informed decisions about card selection and play patterns.

For example, if you’re building a deck that relies heavily on graveyard recursion, tokens may not be as valuable in that deck because they can’t be brought back from the graveyard like normal creatures. Conversely, if your deck focuses on exiling opponent’s creatures or triggering effects when your own creatures leave the battlefield, tokens can be a more valuable resource. It also helps understand when it is and isn’t effective to use effects such as “Return to the Ranks” or “Living Death” within your graveyard recursion deck.

Ultimately, a thorough understanding of these mechanics allows players to optimize their strategies and gain a competitive edge. Keep learning and exploring the intricate rules of Magic, and your gameplay will continue to improve. Consider exploring resources such as the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org for further insights into game mechanics and learning through play.

Leave a Comment