Does Shroud Stop Ninjutsu? Unraveling the Magic of Interactions
In the intricate world of Magic: The Gathering, understanding keyword interactions is crucial. A common question arises regarding Shroud and Ninjutsu: Does Shroud stop Ninjutsu? The short answer is no, Shroud does not stop Ninjutsu. Here’s why:
Ninjutsu is a keyword ability that allows you to return an unblocked attacking creature you control to its owner’s hand and put a Ninja card from your hand onto the battlefield. The key point is that the Ninjutsu ability itself doesn’t target a creature. Returning the unblocked creature is a cost to activate the ability, not an effect of the ability itself. Since Shroud only prevents a permanent from being the target of spells or abilities, it doesn’t interfere with the cost payment for Ninjutsu.
Let’s dive deeper into why this interaction works the way it does. Ninjutsu doesn’t “select” the creature with Shroud as a target. Instead, you choose which unblocked attacker to return to your hand as part of paying the cost. This distinction is vital. Targeting is a specific game mechanic that the Shroud ability directly counters. Cost payment is a separate action, unaffected by Shroud.
Think of it this way: Shroud creates a protective barrier against direct interference. Ninjutsu simply uses a creature as a resource to bring a ninja into play. The game rules differentiate between targeting and using, thus allowing Ninjutsu to bypass the limitations of Shroud. This interaction showcases the depth and complexity that makes Magic: The Gathering so engaging. Understanding how Ninjutsu avoids targeting means the ability can still “select” a shrouded creature, highlighting a key difference between costs and effects in the game’s rules.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Shroud and Related Mechanics
Here are 15 frequently asked questions related to Shroud, Ninjutsu, and other relevant mechanics in Magic: The Gathering, designed to clarify common points of confusion and provide deeper insights into these abilities:
1. What exactly does Shroud do?
Shroud prevents a permanent (usually a creature) from being the target of spells or abilities. This means neither you nor your opponents can choose a permanent with Shroud as a target for any effect. It’s a blanket protection against targeted effects, regardless of the source.
2. How is Hexproof different from Shroud?
Hexproof only prevents your opponents from targeting the permanent. You can still target your own permanents with Hexproof with your own spells and abilities. Shroud, on the other hand, prevents everyone from targeting the permanent, including you. Hexproof is often considered superior because it gives you more flexibility.
3. Can I equip a creature with Shroud?
No. Equipping is a targeted action. You target the creature you want to attach the Equipment to. Since Shroud prevents targeting, you cannot attach an Equipment to a creature with Shroud.
4. Can I enchant a creature with Shroud?
No. Enchanting a creature also requires targeting that creature with the Aura spell. As with equipping, Shroud prevents you from targeting the creature, so you can’t attach an Aura to it.
5. Can I use a combat trick on a creature with Shroud?
No. Combat tricks often target creatures to give them bonuses or abilities. Since Shroud prevents targeting, you can’t use a combat trick on a creature with Shroud.
6. If a creature gains Shroud after it’s been equipped or enchanted, what happens?
Nothing happens to the existing Equipment or Auras. Shroud only prevents new attachments. Anything already attached stays attached.
7. Can I use a board wipe to destroy creatures with Shroud?
Yes. Board wipes, such as Wrath of God or Damnation, typically do not target individual creatures. They affect all creatures on the battlefield, regardless of whether they have Shroud or Hexproof. Because the board wipe does not target specifically, Shroud does not prevent it.
8. Can I proliferate counters on a permanent with Shroud?
Yes. Proliferate does not target. It allows you to choose any number of permanents with counters and add one additional counter of each kind already there. Since it doesn’t target, Shroud and Hexproof are irrelevant.
9. Does Shroud protect against Deathtouch?
No. Deathtouch is an ability that makes any amount of damage dealt by a creature lethal. It doesn’t target the creature being damaged, so Shroud and Hexproof don’t provide any protection.
10. Can I counter a spell that targets a creature with Shroud?
Yes. Shroud only applies when the permanent is on the battlefield. A spell on the stack can be countered regardless of whether it eventually targets a permanent with Shroud. Furthermore, if a spell with “~ cannot be countered” is in effect, a player will not be able to counter the spell.
11. If I control a Spellskite with Shroud, can I redirect a spell to it?
You can activate Spellskite’s ability, but the redirection will fail because Spellskite is not a legal target due to Shroud. The original spell will resolve as if Spellskite’s ability had not been activated.
12. Can a player with Shroud be attacked?
Shroud only prevents the player from being the target of spells or abilities. Attacking doesn’t target; you declare attackers and the defending player chooses which creatures to block with. Therefore, a player with Shroud can still be attacked.
13. Can I use Mutate on a creature with Shroud?
No. Mutate is a targeted ability. You target a non-Human creature on the battlefield to merge the mutated creature with. Therefore, you cannot Mutate with a creature with Shroud.
14. What happens if Spellskite has Shroud?
If you control a Spellskite with shroud, you can still activate spellskite targeting any spell or ability. Because spellskite is not a legal target, the target won’t change. You can activate Spellskite’s ability even if Spellskite wouldn’t be a legal target for the spell or ability.
15. What is the difference between Shroud and Protection?
Shroud prevents the permanent from being targeted, whereas protection has several components that can prevent spells from working. Protection from a color, for example, means the permanent can’t be damaged by sources of that color, can’t be enchanted or equipped by permanents of that color, can’t be blocked by creatures of that color, and can’t be the target of spells or abilities of that color. Protection is much more comprehensive.
Diving Deeper into Game Mechanics
Understanding the nuanced interactions between abilities like Shroud and Ninjutsu requires a solid grasp of the game’s core mechanics. Distinguishing between targeting and cost payment is crucial. Similarly, knowing the differences between Shroud, Hexproof, and other protective abilities allows for more strategic gameplay and informed decision-making. These concepts, while intricate, are essential for mastering Magic: The Gathering.
Engaging with the game’s community, studying card interactions, and consistently practicing your gameplay are valuable approaches to honing your Magic: The Gathering skills. There are many valuable resources for learning more about games and their educational potential. The Games Learning Society or GamesLearningSociety.org provides insights into how games can be used as tools for learning and development.
In conclusion, Shroud does not stop Ninjutsu, due to Ninjutsu not targeting. By carefully considering these nuances, players can elevate their game and truly appreciate the intricate depth of Magic: The Gathering.