Decoding the Upkeep and Draw Steps in Magic: The Gathering
No, the upkeep step does not include the draw step in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). Upkeep is a distinct phase that precedes the draw step, occurring right after the untap step. It’s a crucial moment in the turn, where certain triggered abilities resolve and players have an opportunity to cast spells or activate abilities before drawing a card for the turn.
Understanding the Turn Structure
To fully grasp the relationship between upkeep and draw, it’s essential to understand the overall structure of a player’s turn in MTG:
- Untap Step: The active player untaps all permanents they control, including lands and creatures.
- Upkeep Step: Triggered abilities that occur at the beginning of upkeep are put on the stack. The active player then gains priority and can cast spells or activate abilities.
- Draw Step: The active player draws a card.
- Main Phase 1 (Precombat Main Phase): The active player can play lands, cast spells, and activate abilities.
- Combat Phase: This phase is divided into multiple steps: Beginning of Combat, Declare Attackers, Declare Blockers, Combat Damage, End of Combat.
- Main Phase 2 (Postcombat Main Phase): The active player can play lands, cast spells, and activate abilities.
- End Step: Triggered abilities that occur at the end step go on the stack.
- Cleanup Step: The active player discards down to their maximum hand size (usually seven cards), and all damage marked on creatures is removed.
As you can see, the upkeep step is firmly positioned before the draw step. This order is critical, as it allows for strategic plays and responses before the active player gains the advantage of a new card.
The Significance of the Upkeep Step
The upkeep step is more than just a formality. It serves as a strategic chokepoint, offering several important functions:
- Triggered Abilities: Many cards have abilities that trigger at the beginning of the upkeep. These can range from beneficial effects to detrimental costs.
- Opportunity for Interaction: The upkeep step grants players a window to respond before the active player draws a card. This allows for disrupting their strategy, removing key permanents, or casting spells that take advantage of the board state.
- Cumulative Upkeep: Some permanents have a “cumulative upkeep” cost, requiring the player to pay an increasing amount of mana each turn to keep the permanent in play. This increasing cost adds a strategic layer, forcing players to choose between maintaining a powerful permanent and conserving resources.
- Setting the Stage: Effects or setups that need to happen before a player draws often occur during this step.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions about the upkeep and draw steps in Magic: The Gathering, to deepen your understanding of these crucial phases:
1. Can I cast a sorcery during my upkeep?
No, you cannot cast a sorcery during your upkeep. Sorceries can only be cast during your main phases when the stack is empty and you have priority. During your upkeep, you can only cast instants and spells with flash.
2. What happens if multiple abilities trigger during my upkeep?
If multiple abilities trigger at the beginning of your upkeep, they are placed on the stack in an order determined by the active player. The active player puts their triggered abilities on the stack in any order they choose, then the non-active players in turn order put their triggered abilities on the stack. The last ability put on the stack will resolve first.
3. Can I respond to an upkeep trigger?
Yes, you can respond to any upkeep triggers. After a triggered ability is placed on the stack, players have the opportunity to cast spells or activate abilities in response.
4. Does mana burn exist between upkeep and draw?
No, mana burn no longer exists in modern MTG rules. Unspent mana empties from your mana pool at the end of each step and phase, including the upkeep step. So, you cannot generate mana during upkeep and save it for the draw step.
5. Can I play a land during my upkeep?
No, you cannot play a land during your upkeep. You can only play a land during your main phases when the stack is empty and you have priority.
6. What if I have an ability that skips my draw step?
If you have an ability that skips your draw step, you simply proceed directly to your main phase 1 after your upkeep step. You do not draw a card that turn.
7. If I have cumulative upkeep, when do I have to pay the cost?
You must pay the cumulative upkeep cost during your upkeep step. At the beginning of your upkeep, an age counter is placed on the permanent. You then have the opportunity to pay the cumulative upkeep cost for each age counter. If you choose not to pay, the permanent is sacrificed.
8. Can I activate an ability that requires tapping a creature during my upkeep?
Yes, as long as you have priority during your upkeep, you can activate abilities, including those that require tapping a creature, as long as the cost can be fulfilled.
9. What is the purpose of having an upkeep step before the draw step?
The upkeep step allows for strategic interaction and the resolution of triggered abilities before a player gains the advantage of drawing a new card. It enables opponents to disrupt plans, remove key permanents, or cast spells that take advantage of the board state before the draw.
10. If I don’t want to do anything during my upkeep, do I have to announce that I’m passing priority?
Yes, to move from the upkeep step to the draw step, you must pass priority. You don’t need to announce “I pass priority,” but you need to indicate that you are not taking any actions. Your opponent then has the opportunity to act. If they also pass, the game moves to the draw step.
11. Can I cast a spell in response to an upkeep ability that destroys one of my permanents?
Yes, you can cast a spell in response to an upkeep ability that destroys one of your permanents. This allows you to potentially save the permanent or take other actions before it is destroyed.
12. Does the upkeep step happen even if I have no permanents with upkeep triggers?
Yes, the upkeep step always occurs, even if you have no permanents with upkeep triggers. It’s a mandatory part of the turn structure.
13. If I gain control of an opponent’s permanent during my upkeep, do I have to pay its cumulative upkeep cost that turn?
Yes, if you gain control of an opponent’s permanent with cumulative upkeep during your upkeep, you are responsible for paying the cost or sacrificing the permanent.
14. What happens if my opponent casts a spell during my upkeep? Do I get another chance to act before the draw step?
Yes, if your opponent casts a spell during your upkeep, you get another chance to respond before the draw step. The spell goes on the stack, and you have the opportunity to cast spells or activate abilities in response. If both players pass priority with the spell on the stack, it resolves. Then you get another priority before going to the draw.
15. How does the upkeep step relate to strategy and decision-making in Magic: The Gathering?
The upkeep step is a crucial point for strategic decision-making. Players must consider the triggered abilities that are about to resolve, the potential actions of their opponents, and the overall board state. It often dictates whether to hold back resources or make a proactive play before drawing a new card, influencing the entire course of the turn. Learning these strategic nuances is a continuous part of improving at Magic. You can learn more about effective learning strategies at websites like Games Learning Society.
Mastering the Upkeep
Understanding the upkeep step is essential for any Magic: The Gathering player. It’s not just a formality; it’s a strategic chokepoint that offers opportunities for interaction, disruption, and careful resource management. By mastering the intricacies of the upkeep step, you can gain a significant edge in your games. GamesLearningSociety.org has more information about the way games, like MTG, affect learning.