Mastering the Armory: A Comprehensive Guide to Equipment in Magic: The Gathering
The rules for Equipment in Magic: The Gathering revolve around these key concepts: Equipment is an artifact subtype that resides on the battlefield independently. It grants abilities and stat boosts to creatures by attaching to them via the “equip” keyword ability. This ability can only be activated at sorcery speed, meaning only during your main phase when the stack is empty. You pay the equip cost, targeting a creature you control. If the equipped creature leaves the battlefield, the Equipment remains on the battlefield, unattached, ready to be equipped to another creature. The Equip ability specifies a target creature you control.
Diving Deeper: The Nuances of Equipping
Equipment is a flavorful and powerful mechanic, allowing you to customize your creatures with powerful bonuses. Understanding its intricacies is crucial for strategic gameplay. Let’s delve into the specifics of how Equipment interacts with the game.
Key Characteristics of Equipment
-
Artifact Subtype: Equipment is always an artifact. This means it’s susceptible to artifact removal spells and abilities.
-
Equip Ability: This is the defining feature. It allows you to attach the Equipment to a creature you control by paying the equip cost.
-
Sorcery Speed: A critical limitation. You can only activate equip abilities when you could cast a sorcery – during your main phase when the stack is empty.
-
Attachment: Once equipped, the Equipment stays attached as long as both the Equipment and the creature remain on the battlefield and the creature meets the requirements of the equipment.
-
Detachment Upon Creature Removal: When the equipped creature leaves the battlefield (dies, is exiled, returned to hand, etc.), the Equipment becomes unattached and remains on the battlefield.
-
Targeting Restrictions: The equip ability targets a creature you control, unless a card specifies otherwise.
Equipping and Game State
The act of equipping a creature is an activated ability, meaning it uses the stack and can be responded to. However, the Equip ability is activated at sorcery speed only, as previously mentioned. Once the equip ability resolves, the Equipment becomes attached to the creature, and the creature immediately gains any abilities or stat boosts granted by the Equipment.
It’s important to remember that the Equipment itself remains a separate permanent. Destroying the creature doesn’t destroy the Equipment. Similarly, destroying the Equipment doesn’t inherently affect the creature (although it will lose any benefits the Equipment provided).
Special Cases and Interactions
There are exceptions to the general rules of Equipment. Some cards have abilities that allow you to equip creatures for free, or even at instant speed. Some Equipment cards may also have abilities that trigger when they become attached or unattached to a creature. Understanding these nuances can give you a significant strategic edge. Furthermore, some equipment, like [[Luxior, Giada’s Gift]] allow you to equip planeswalkers.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Equipment
Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the rules surrounding Equipment in Magic: The Gathering.
1. Can you equip equipment to opponents’ creatures?
Normally, no. The Equip ability specifically targets a creature you control. However, some cards may exist that allow you to attach Equipment to creatures you don’t control, overriding the normal equip rules. Also, if you have a creature equipped and lose control of the creature, the equipment will stay.
2. Does destroying equipment count as unattaching it?
No. Destroying the Equipment removes it from the battlefield entirely. Unattaching occurs when the equipped creature leaves the battlefield, but the Equipment remains in play.
3. Does equipment automatically equip?
Not all Equipment cards automatically attach. You generally need to activate the Equip ability and pay the cost. However, some Equipment cards have a zero equip cost or other abilities that trigger automatic equipping under certain conditions.
4. Can you re-equip Equipment?
Yes! You can re-equip Equipment to another creature you control by paying the equip cost again. You don’t need to wait for the Equipment to become unattached first; you can move it directly from one creature to another. This also occurs at sorcery speed.
5. What happens if you lose control of an equipped creature?
The Equipment remains attached. The Equip ability targeted a creature you controlled upon activation and resolution. Changing control of the creature doesn’t break the attachment. Your opponent now controls a creature with your Equipment.
6. Does protection from everything remove equipment?
Yes. Protection prevents equipment from being attached to that permanent. If a creature gains “Protection from Everything” (or any specified quality), any existing Equipment with that quality will fall off. It does not destroy the equipment.
7. Can an Equipment equip itself?
No. An Equipment cannot equip itself. The equip ability targets a creature that is separate from the equipment itself.
8. What happens when Equipment becomes a creature?
If an Equipment becomes a creature, it can’t be attached to another creature and will “fall off” of any creature it’s attached to. Equipment can only be attached to creatures (or Planeswalkers, in specific cases).
9. Can you equip the same creature twice?
Yes! A creature can be equipped with multiple Equipment cards, as long as you can pay the equip costs. There is no limit to the number of Equipment a creature can have (unless a specific card states otherwise).
10. Does Equipment have summoning sickness?
Equipment itself doesn’t have summoning sickness. Summoning sickness only affects creatures. However, if an Equipment becomes a creature, it will be subject to summoning sickness if you haven’t controlled it continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn.
11. Can you attach Equipment to Planeswalkers?
Normally, no. However, some specific Equipment cards, like [[Luxior, Giada’s Gift]], allow you to equip planeswalkers. When equipped to a planeswalker it transforms into a creature.
12. Is there a limit on Equipment in Magic: The Gathering?
There is no limit to the number of Equipment cards you can have on the battlefield or the number of Equipment attached to a single creature. As long as you can pay the costs to play and equip them, you can have as many as you want.
13. Can you move Equipment on your opponent’s turn?
No. Equip abilities can only be activated during your main phase when the stack is empty, and you have priority. Also, can equipment be equiped during an opponents turn, like you can with tapping another creature for an ability?
14. What is the difference between equip and attach?
Equip is a specific activated ability with a specific cost and timing restriction (sorcery speed). Attach is a general term for connecting one permanent to another. While the Equip ability attaches an Equipment to a creature, some cards might attach permanents in other ways, sometimes even at instant speed.
15. Can you unequip equipment in magic?
Equipment is attached once you pay the equip cost to attach your equipment on to your creature. You can not unequip an equipment without equipping another creature. You may only unattach it if the card says so, Cranial Plating is the only equipment that can attach at instant speed.
The Educational Side of MTG
Magic: The Gathering isn’t just a fun game; it also sharpens critical thinking, strategy, and resource management skills. The complex interactions and strategic decisions involved in the game make it a valuable tool for learning and development. Learn more about the educational benefits of games through organizations like the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.
Understanding and mastering the rules of Equipment can significantly improve your gameplay and allow you to create powerful and customized strategies. From understanding the limitations of sorcery speed equipping to leveraging the strengths of instant speed attachment, a solid grasp of Equipment is essential for any serious Magic: The Gathering player.