What is the rule 704.5 Q in Magic The Gathering?

What is the rule 704.5 Q in Magic The Gathering?

The rule 704.5q in Magic The Gathering states that if a permanent has both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter on it, N +1/+1 and N -1/-1 counters are removed from it, where N is the smaller of the number of +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it. This rule is essential in understanding how counters interact with each other on a permanent, helping players manage their creatures’ power and toughness during gameplay.

Understanding the Legend Rule and State-Based Actions

To better comprehend the intricacies of Magic The Gathering, including the rule 704.5q, it’s essential to explore other related rules and concepts, such as the legend rule, state-based actions, and how counters affect permanents.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the legend rule 704.5 J?

The legend rule 704.5j states that if two or more legendary permanents with the same name are controlled by the same player, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards.

What is the rule 704.4 in Magic The Gathering?

704.4 explains that unlike triggered abilities, state-based actions pay no attention to what happens during the resolution of a spell or ability.

Do state-based actions go on the stack?

No, state-based actions do not use the stack, and they always take priority whenever they’re checked, which is every time when resolving a spell or ability.

What are the rules for until end of turn in Magic The Gathering?

Every player’s turn has a phase called the “end phase”, where the last step is to remove all “until end of turn” effects and all damage simultaneously.

What is TR&CI 86?

TR&CI 86 discusses how to handle multiple state-based actions at once and their impact on triggered abilities.

What is the rule 121.3 in Magic The Gathering?

121.3 states that if there are no cards in a player’s library and an effect offers that player the choice to draw a card, that player can choose to do so, unless another effect says they can’t draw cards.

How many cards can you have at the end of your turn?

If a player has more than seven cards in hand at the end of their turn, any extras must be discarded.

What is the rule 704.5 F?

704.5f states that if a creature has toughness 0 or less, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard, and regeneration can’t replace this event.

What order do triggers go on the stack?

Triggered abilities go on the stack the next time a player would receive priority, in active player, nonactive player order.

What is the rule 701.3 in Magic The Gathering?

701.3 explains how to attach an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification to an object or player.

What is the rule 702.7 in Magic The Gathering?

702.7c discusses giving first strike to a creature without it after combat damage has already been dealt in the first combat damage step.

What is the rule 701.25 A in Magic The Gathering?

701.25a states that only a scheme card may be set in motion, and only during an Archenemy game, by the archenemy.

What cards stop the legend rule?

Only a handful of cards, including Mirror Gallery, Mirror Box, and Sakashima of a Thousand Faces, cancel the legend rule entirely.

How do you get around the legend rule?

You can get around the legend rule if the creatures all have different names, or at most one of those with identical names is legendary.

Can you respond to the legend rule?

No, the legend rule is a state-based action, meaning there’s no way to respond to it, even with spells that have split second.

What is the five stack penalty?

A 5-stack of Iron-Ascendant players will receive RR penalties if any players are ranked outside of a normal party restriction.

Does tapping a land go on the stack?

No, tapping lands for mana can’t be responded to and doesn’t use the stack, as costs don’t use the stack.

Can your last card be a draw 2?

Yes, you can end the game with an action card, and if it’s a Draw Two or Wild Draw Four card, the next player must draw the 2 or 4 cards respectively.

Is 7 cards too many?

In Magic The Gathering, having more than seven cards in hand at the end of your turn requires you to discard excess cards, but in other contexts, such as credit cards, having too many can negatively impact credit health.

What is the rule 701.15 in Magic The Gathering?

701.15a explains that if the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a permanent, it creates a replacement effect that protects the permanent the next time it would be destroyed this turn.

What is the 500.2 rule in Magic The Gathering?

500.2 states that a phase or step in which players receive priority ends when the stack is empty and all players pass in succession.

What is the rule 614.12 in Magic The Gathering?

614.12 discusses how some replacement effects modify how a permanent enters the battlefield, which may come from the permanent itself if they affect only that permanent.

Leave a Comment