When Can a Bonus Action Be Used? A Comprehensive Guide to 5e Bonus Actions
In Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e), the bonus action is a crucial mechanic that adds depth and flexibility to combat and exploration. However, understanding when and how to use it correctly can be tricky, particularly for new players. Let’s delve into the specifics of bonus actions, exploring their limitations and potential.
The short and direct answer is this: You can use a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game explicitly states that you can do something as a bonus action. Without one of these enabling features, you simply do not have a bonus action available to use on your turn.
Understanding the Nuances of Bonus Actions
Bonus actions aren’t a universal action like the standard action that every character can take each turn. They are conditional, meaning their availability depends entirely on character class features, spells, feats, or even certain magic items. This makes them unique and powerful additions to your character’s repertoire.
The Foundation: Specific Features
The core of bonus action usage is tied directly to specific game features. For example, a Rogue’s Cunning Action allows them to Dash, Disengage, or Hide as a bonus action. Similarly, many spells are designated to be cast as a bonus action. This specificity is key; you can’t just decide to do something as a bonus action unless the rules explicitly permit it.
Timing is Everything
You can use your bonus action any time during your turn, provided it’s not a reaction. The Player’s Handbook explicitly states you can take your action and bonus action in whatever order you desire. That means you could start with a bonus action, take a movement, then use your action or vice versa. This order flexibility can be crucial for tactical positioning or spellcasting combinations.
The Limit: One Per Turn
It’s essential to remember that you can only take one bonus action per turn, regardless of how many options you might have available. If you have two different class features that could allow you to use bonus actions, you have to choose which one you’ll use this turn. Choosing between multiple powerful bonus actions can be a challenge, but it’s a core element of the game’s strategic gameplay.
The Inherent Link to Actions
You can only use a bonus action when you can take your regular action. If you are somehow incapacitated, preventing you from using actions, you are also prevented from using bonus actions. This close link means bonus actions are always dependent on your general ability to act during your turn.
Bonus Actions vs. Reactions
Bonus actions are not to be confused with reactions. A reaction is a single, immediate response to a trigger that can occur at any point in the round, not just on your turn. You can only take one reaction per round, while bonus actions must be taken during your turn. Furthermore, a ready action cannot be a bonus action. The ready action specifically is limited to an attack (not multiple), a spell, or a simple action.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Bonus Actions
Let’s address some of the most common questions regarding bonus actions, ensuring you have a clear understanding of this key mechanic:
1. Can you use a bonus action before a normal action?
Yes, you can. The rules allow you to use your action and bonus action in any order during your turn. Start with a bonus action, take your movement, then your action – or any other sequence – it’s up to you.
2. Can you only use a bonus action once?
Yes. While there are no rules explicitly limiting it to just a single use, the fact you can only take one bonus action per turn limits you to using it once per turn, provided you have an ability that allows you to take one. You can’t save up bonus actions and use two on your next turn. They are strictly limited to one bonus action per turn.
3. Can a bonus action be used between attacks?
Absolutely. When using the Attack action to attack multiple times, you can use a bonus action at any point in the process. For example, you can attack, then use a bonus action, and continue with your next attack (if you have them). You are not locked into using all your attacks first before bonus actions or movement.
4. Can you use a bonus action and then hold an action?
No. The Ready action does not include bonus actions or movement. You can only ready a single action, attack, or spell.
5. Can you dash as both a bonus action and an action?
Yes, you can. If you have a feature like Cunning Action or the Expeditious Retreat spell, which allows you to dash as a bonus action, you can use that along with the normal Dash action to effectively move three times your normal speed in a single turn.
6. Can you use two bonus actions in one turn?
No, you can’t. You are limited to only one bonus action per turn. If you have multiple available bonus action options, you must choose which one to use, you cannot use multiple.
7. Can you take a bonus action while incapacitated?
No. The incapacitated condition prevents characters from taking actions, reactions, or bonus actions. This means that you are also not able to take a bonus action when incapacitated, making you more vulnerable.
8. Can I use a bonus action and a reaction in the same turn?
Yes. A reaction is taken in response to a trigger that can happen on anyone’s turn. A bonus action is a turn only action. They are independent from each other. You can only take one reaction per turn, however you can also take a bonus action on your turn.
9. Can you use an action for a bonus action?
No, you cannot. Actions and bonus actions are separate categories. You cannot swap one for the other. Unless the ability states you are using a bonus action, you are not using a bonus action.
10. Can you cast a spell as an action and a bonus action on the same turn?
Yes, but with restrictions. If you cast a spell using your bonus action, you can only cast a cantrip as an action. If you cast a spell as your action you cannot cast another spell as a bonus action, and vise versa.
11. Does dual wielding use a bonus action?
Yes. To attack with two light weapons, you must take the Attack action and attack with a light weapon. Then, you can use your bonus action to attack with the other light weapon. This specific bonus action is available to any character who fulfills these requirements.
12. Do you get a bonus action every round?
Not necessarily. You can only take a bonus action on your turn when a special ability, spell, or other feature allows you to take a bonus action. If you do not have one to use, then you do not use one.
13. Can you use a bonus action when paralyzed?
No. As paralysis is considered to be a condition that means you are incapacitated, a character that is paralyzed is unable to take actions, reactions, or bonus actions.
14. What is the difference between unconscious and incapacitated?
Unconscious is a condition typically associated with being at 0 hit points. An incapacitated creature cannot take actions or reactions but isn’t necessarily at 0 hit points. All unconscious creatures are incapacitated, but not all incapacitated creatures are unconscious.
15. Does movement count as an action?
No, movement is separate from actions. It can be broken up throughout your turn. You can move, take an action, then move again. In contrast, bonus actions and actions are considered a single, discrete event in your turn.
Mastering Bonus Actions
Understanding when you can use a bonus action is crucial to playing 5th edition D&D effectively. It’s a mechanic that enhances tactical flexibility, enabling you to move, attack, or support your team with greater efficiency. By paying close attention to your character’s class features and spells, you can unlock the full potential of this invaluable tool and make the most of every round of combat. Familiarize yourself with the options available to your character, learn how to weave them into your strategy, and become a more strategic player, both inside and outside of combat!